top of page

My Unlikely New Home

Comparing Missouri State University to Universities in Pennsylvania

Going into my senior year I had numerous options of where I could continue my education. All of the colleges and universities had some of what I was looking for, but finding an institution that met everything I wanted was not an easy task. Some were close to home but lacked the hands on opportunities that I need to successfully learn, and others had the programs that I was looking for but the campus just lacked something that made it hard to see it as my new home.

After searching and considering my options I came to a decision that surprised both my family and myself. Being as close to my family as I am, I never thought that I would make the decision to move from a small town in Pennsylvania to a large university in Missouri. Compared to the colleges in my home area, Missouri State University was just more of what I was looking for. It is a large university but it is spread out enough that it does not feel like a huge overwhelming place. It offered the program that I wanted, and even after my first visit I knew that it was somewhere that I could call home.

Now that a semester has passed, I can confidently say that I made the right decision. The most surprising aspect of this decision is that I am not homesick in the least bit!

Written by lizisright who is an English Freshman at the Missouri State University and likes to eat Taco Bell for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

Photo Credit: Jose Kevo via Flickr

Missouri State Bears

bottom of page