top of page

HOME OR AWAY

Comparing the University of Tennessee and Tennessee Tech University

Why I went to the University of Tennessee and not somewhere else? That question is a hard one.

I originally come from Cookeville, Tennessee. Cookeville is a small college town for Tennessee Tech which is referred to simply as Tech back home. Now Tech may be a smaller school and significantly cheaper than many other state schools in Tennessee. However, the one thing Tech has working for itself is that small school charm.

In comparison, the University of Tennessee in Knoxville is an enormous school that can make you feel small and hopeless. Additionally, it takes an arm and a leg to get into UT in the first place.

To most of my high school class mates, Tech sounded a lot better. And a lot easier! Well, yes Tech is cheaper and smaller, but Tech lacks the big-school pride and care for each student who goes there. Additionally, Tech does not have that big-school drive that helps you succeed. Those two things were extremely important to me.

That is why I picked the University of Tennessee over Tennessee Tech. A year into college, I am extremely happy about my decision. Especially when I speak with my high school friends that picked Tech, I realize the exposure I am getting at UT is unbeatable. They are happy with their decision as well. But I suspect that has more to do with the fact that they have not had first hand experience of the greener pasture on the other side of the river!

Written by davidr who is a History Sophomore at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville and likes to play football, sleep and go out on long walks

University of Tennessee.jpg

bottom of page