top of page

Seattle- Born and Raised, and it's Where I'm Gonna Stay!

Comparing University of Washington to University of New Hampshire

I've lived close to my entire life (17 out of my near 19 years) in the Pacific Northwest. I love everything about it, even the gray, dreary skies and the too-mild summers. Before I chose to attend the University of Washington, I was deciding between it and the University of New Hampshire. My mom and I flew out to the East Coast and even went on a campus tour for admitted students. I loved the UNH campus. Campus had a very old, traditional East Coast feel to it. It was very small and quaint- very different from the large and urban University of Washington. My financial aid to attend UNH was additionally very helpful in making college more affordable.

Why did I then choose the University of Washington? As much as I loved the small-town feel of Durham, New Hampshire, I knew at the end of the day that Seattle was where I wanted to stay. It would allow me to stay close to home in a city I was already familiar with, and although living in a small town would be lovely, I was worried that I would quickly run out of things to do outside of the school environment. Activities in Seattle are endless. I love the urban hustle and bustle of the UW. I love the weather. I love the familiarity and I love being able to continue calling the Pacific Northwest my home. That's why I chose the University of Washington. And I don't regret a thing or have any second thoughts.

Written by mel721 who is a Biology Freshman at the University of Washington and likes to stay outdoors whenever she can!

Photo Credit: Wonderlane via Flickr

Cherry Blossoms at the University of Washington in Seattle

bottom of page